Two openers sit on the shelf with a horsepower figure on the carton, and both manufacturers print a footnote underneath saying the figure is not horsepower. That is the real starting point for Chamberlain MyQ vs Genie smart opener, and it decides more than the app on your phone does.
This is an independent editorial comparison. We are not affiliated with any brand mentioned, and no brand reviewed or approved this article.
A garage door opener drives the heaviest moving object in most homes. Installation, spring work and track adjustment belong with a qualified garage door technician, and the manual that ships with your own opener governs your own door.
Chamberlain MyQ vs Genie smart opener, compared on published specifications
Every entry below comes from one of the two manufacturers’ own pages. Nothing is a verdict, because the two companies do not publish the same measurements.
| Published specification | Chamberlain | Genie |
|---|---|---|
| Motor rating label | HPs, with a footnote saying it is for comparison only | HPc, with a footnote saying it is not an equivalency |
| What that label means | Lift capacity similar to an AC motor of that horsepower | The DC opener meets or exceeds Genie’s own lifting-force spec |
| App platform | myQ | Aladdin Connect |
| Accessory radio | Security+ generations, and they are not cross-compatible | Intellicode |
| In-car control | Not stated on the product pages read | HomeLink and Car2U with no bridge box |
| Warranty wording seen | Ten year motor and belt on one camera model | Limited lifetime motor and belt on one belt model |
| Door limit published | Rail extension kits referenced for taller doors | Up to 7 ft high and 500 lbs on one belt model |
The horsepower rating on both cartons is not horsepower
Genie states the qualification in its own FAQ: “The Horsepower Comparable (HPc) rating indicates that the DC opener meets or exceeds Genie’s lifting-force specifications for a horsepower rating. The HPc ratings do not denote equivalency, but instead are a basis for garage door opener comparisons.” Its store listing puts it more plainly still, explaining that AC motors are measured in horsepower while DC motors are measured in newtons, a unit of force rather than power, and that HPc is used as a term for motor size so the two can be lined up.
Chamberlain says the same thing in different words. Its buyer’s guide states that “Lift capacity of DC motors is typically not measured in horsepower,” and the footnote on a 1-1/4 HPs product page reads “For comparison purposes only; lift capacity similar to 1 1/4 horsepower AC motor.”
So both letters after the number are the manufacturer telling you the number is a house convention. An HPs figure and an HPc figure were never defined against each other, which means the one arithmetic every shopper performs, comparing 1-1/4 of one against 1-1/4 of the other, is the one the footnotes rule out.
What a genie vs chamberlain spec sheet does let you compare
Drop the motor label and the published sheets still hold plenty. A genie vs chamberlain comparison works cleanly on drive type, on what the opener is rated to lift, and on what comes in the box.
- Drive type is published and physical. Genie’s own descriptions cover a solid-steel direct screw drive with “no belts, chains, or gears that wear out,” belt drive that is “ultra-quiet because they are smooth and have no metal-on-metal contact in the rail,” and chain drive as “among the most affordable in the industry.”
- Door limits appear on some listings and not others. Genie’s model 7055D page states it operates residential sectional doors “up to 7 ft. in height and 500 lbs. in weight.” Chamberlain’s buyer’s guide points at rail extension kits for 8-foot and 10-foot doors and tells you to measure the door before buying.
- Accessory counts are printed. The same Genie model “pairs with up to 16 wireless devices, including remotes and keypads.”
- Extras are specified properly. A Chamberlain camera model lists dual LED lighting at 2,000 lumens and a 360-degree wide-angle camera with night vision, alongside battery backup and soft start and stop.
Chamberlain MyQ or Genie smart opener: the accessory generation decides it
This is where a purchase actually goes wrong, and it has nothing to do with lifting force. Picking a Chamberlain MyQ or Genie smart opener also picks a radio family, and your existing remotes, keypads and car buttons either speak it or they do not.
Chamberlain publishes the boundary in one line on a current product page: it is “Compatible with all Security + 3.0 accessories” and “Not compatible with Security +2.0 accessories.” That is a single sentence that can strand a drawer of working remotes. Genie’s side runs on Intellicode, and its 7055D listing adds something Chamberlain’s pages read for this article did not state, namely that the unit is “HomeLink and Car2U compatible (No external repeater box or bridge needed.)” For anyone whose car has buttons built into the visor or mirror, that line is worth more than any motor figure.
On the software side, Genie’s screw-drive listing describes “integrated Aladdin Connect Wi-Fi smartphone technology” with a free app that lets you add individual users and set up virtual keys, and compatibility with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant. Chamberlain’s myQ page describes knowing when the door opens and closes, opening and closing it remotely, and sharing limited access “with up to five users.” Chamberlain’s buyer’s guide adds the practical requirement people skip: a smart opener “needs to be within Wi-Fi range,” so check the signal in the garage before you check anything else. Our breakdown of home security camera specifications covers the same access-sharing and app-account questions for cameras.
Why liftmaster vs genie vs chamberlain is the wrong three-way question
Shoppers type liftmaster vs genie vs chamberlain expecting a league table, and the published specifications cannot produce one. Two of the three print a self-defined motor suffix that each company says is not an equivalency, so ranking them by that number compares two house conventions against each other. In researching this article LiftMaster’s own site and the Chamberlain Group corporate site both returned pages with no readable specification text, so no LiftMaster figure is quoted here rather than sourced from a roundup.
What survives the three-way is the accessory question. Whichever badge is on the carton, the useful comparison is which radio generation the opener speaks, whether your car’s built-in buttons will pair without an extra bridge, and whether the app is free or gated. Those are published, checkable and specific to your garage.
What to check before you order either one
- Measure the door height, and note that taller doors need an extension kit that is sold separately.
- Find the weight or size limit on the specific model page, not on the brand’s homepage, because it is published per model.
- Open the accessory compatibility line and read it literally. A generation number is a hard boundary, not a preference.
- Check whether your vehicle has HomeLink or Car2U buttons, and whether the opener pairs with them directly.
- Stand in the garage and check the Wi-Fi signal, since the smart half of a smart opener depends on it.
- Compare warranty wording rather than warranty headlines: a limited lifetime motor and belt term and a ten year motor and belt term are different promises.
Related guides on this site: our smart lock specifications breakdown works through the same access-sharing questions at the front door, and the smart home hub guide covers platform lock-in before you add a second device.
Frequently Asked Questions
Four questions come up once both spec sheets are open on the same screen.
Is a 1-1/4 HPc Genie the same strength as a 1-1/4 HPs Chamberlain
There is no published basis for saying so. Genie states its HPc rating does not denote equivalency, and Chamberlain states DC lift capacity is typically not measured in horsepower. The letters mean each company defined its own scale.
Will my existing remotes work with a new opener from the other brand
Assume not, and check the accessory line. Chamberlain publishes that one of its current models works with all Security+ 3.0 accessories and is not compatible with Security+ 2.0 accessories, which is a boundary inside a single brand, let alone across two.
Do both brands need a monthly subscription
The pages read for this article describe Genie’s Aladdin Connect app as free and describe myQ features including sharing access with up to five users, without stating a subscription either way. Check the current app page before assuming, because app terms change faster than hardware does.
Which drive type is quietest
Genie’s own descriptions put belt drive ahead on noise, because it is smooth and has no metal-on-metal contact in the rail, while chain drive is positioned as the most affordable. Screw drive is described as having no belts, chains or gears that wear out.
Bottom line
The headline number on both cartons is a house convention that each manufacturer explicitly declines to call horsepower, so buying on it compares nothing. Buy on drive type, on the published door limit for the exact model, and above all on the accessory generation your remotes and your car already speak.